

Minutes of the Executive

(to be confirmed at the next meeting)

- Date: Monday, 14 May 2018
- Venue: Collingwood Room Civic Offices

Present:

S D T Woodward, Policy and Resources (Executive Leader) T M Cartwright, MBE, Health and Public Protection (Deputy Executive Leader) K D Evans, Planning and Development Miss S M Bell, Leisure and Community F Birkett, Housing S D Martin, Streetscene

Also in attendance:

R H Price, JP, for item 10(1)



1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

There were no apologies given for this meeting.

2. MINUTES

RESOLVED that the minutes of the meeting of the Executive held on 09 April 2018 be confirmed and signed as a correct record.

3. EXECUTIVE LEADER'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Executive Leader welcomed the new Executive Members, Councillor F W Birkett and Councillor S D Martin, to the meeting. The Executive Leader also requested that his thanks be placed on record to the outgoing Executive Members, Councillor Miss T Harper and Councillor Mrs K Mandry, for their hard work and contribution to the Streetscene and Housing Executive portfolios.

4. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest made at this meeting.

5. PETITIONS

There were no petitions submitted at this meeting.

6. **DEPUTATIONS**

There were no deputations made at this meeting.

7. MINUTES / REFERENCES FROM OTHER COMMITTEES

There were no references from other Committees or Panels presented at this meeting.

8. CONFIRMATION OF APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO AREAS OF EXECUTIVE RESPONSIBILITY

The Executive Leader confirmed that his decision to appoint Executive Members to the areas of responsibility, as advised at the Annual Council meeting on 10 May 2018, for the municipal year 2018/19 was as follows:

Planning and Development – Councillor K D Evans Leisure and Community – Councillor Mrs C L A Hockley Housing – Councillor F W Birkett Health and Public Protection – Councillor T M Cartwright, OBE Streetscene – Councillor S D Martin Policy and Resources – Councillor S D T Woodward.

The Executive Leader also advised that responsibility for Building Control would move from the Planning and Development Portfolio to Heath and Public Protection.

9. EXECUTIVE APPOINTMENTS

RESOLVED to appoint Executive Members to the following bodies for 2018/19:-

- (i) Portchester Crematorium Joint Committee Councillors K D Evans and S D Martin (N.B in the past, the Executive has not appointed 'substitute' members to this joint committee. However, the Executive may, if it so wishes, authorise other members of the Executive to act as deputies).
- (ii) Fareham and Gosport Building Control Member's Panel Councillor T M Cartwright, MBE.
- (iii) Partnership for Urban South Hampshire (PUSH)

As PUSH is a formal Joint Committee, the following appointments are required to be made by the Executive for 2018/19

- (a) Joint Committee representatives Executive Leader Councillor S D T Woodward and Deputy Executive Leader, Councillor T M Cartwright, MBE
- (b) Sub-Group Meetings The Borough Council's representatives are the appropriate Executive Members.
- (c) Meetings with Key Consultees and similar Consultation Meetings – Councillors S D T Woodward and T M Cartwright, MBE.
- (iv) CCTV Partnership Councillor T M Cartwright, MBE
- (v) Fareham and Gosport Environmental Health Partnership Panel Councillor T M Cartwright, MBE.
- (vi) Aspect Building Communities Ltd Councillor F W Birkett.
- (vii) Joint Member Shared Coastal Management Board Councillor K D Evans and Councillor P J Davies.

10. LEISURE AND COMMUNITY

(1) End of World War 1 Centenary Commemoration

At the invitation of the Executive Leader, Councillor R H Price, JP, addressed the Executive on this item.

RESOLVED that the Executive:

(a) agrees that a Commemoration stone be erected in West Street to commemorate the centenary of the end of World War 1;

- (b) agrees that eight Silent Soldier sculptures be erected across the Borough in the five previous CAT areas;
- (c) chooses the following sites in each of the old CAT areas, from the options presented in the briefing paper, to locate Silent Soldier sculptures at Fareham Train Station, Holy Trinity Church War Memorial, Portchester Memorial Column, Titchfield Parish Rooms, Stubbington Green War Memorial, St Paul's Church Sarisbury Green and Warsash War Memorial;
- (d) agrees that one Silent Soldier sculpture be kept in reserve; and
- (e) agrees that the project will be funded from 2017/18 underspends to the sum of \pounds 10,250.

(The meeting started at 6.00 pm and ended at 6.08 pm).